Contact Us FAQ Fran├žais
Home / Rites of Passage

Rites of Passage

Catalogue Number:  LFE000
Producer:  Left Field Entertainment
Subject:  First Nations Studies, Global Issues, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Sociology
Language:  English
Grade Level:  9 - 12, Post Secondary
Country Of Origin:  Canada
Copyright Year:  2009

Request Preview Access

This 13-part Canadian produced series explores the four common human experiences of birth, death, coming of age and marriage through different cultural and religious perspectives. Shot entirely in HD, it is a visually stunning series that is unique in its access to significant ceremonies. From the inside of a Hindu Mandir to a Sikh gurdwara, from a Jewish death rite to Zoroastrian coming of age, this series shows us there is more in common to the four pillars of life that there are differences.

Each episode in the thirteen part series will examine and discover how many of the world's religions and cultures mark special occasions in human life. Viewers will develop their understanding of how religious beliefs are expressed in practice through ceremonies. They will be able to compare and contrast the practices they discover in the different religions, and evaluate their importance to that of the lives of believers.

Browse Our Collection By Subject

View All Subjects